Life Is All About Music

A personal view on music, all kinds of music.

“Weird Al” Yankovic – “Weird Al” Yankovic (1983)


“Weird Al” Yankovic – “Weird Al” Yankovic (1983)

Artist: “Weird Al” Yankovich
Album: “Weird Al” Yankovich
Year: 1983
Label: Scotti Brothers

Thoughts:
“Weird Al” Yankovic
always puzzled me. I think his parodies are clever and all, but I’m not american, so his cultural parodies and etc didn’t really caught my attention at a first glance.

But I have to admit, he’s good, you just need to pay attention a little bit and you’ll see that he’s full of good ideas. I’ve started to listen to his albums (till now I just know his famous singles), and here we already have a bunch of really good songs, most of them I must say.

Starting with the cover, a clear parody of Frank Zappa‘s album Over-Nite Sensation (1973).


“I Love Rocky Road’, ‘Buckingham Blues’, ‘Stop Draggin’ My Car Around’, ‘I’ll Be Mellow When I’m Dead’ and of course, don’t forget the ‘accordion classics’, ‘My Bologna’ and ‘Another One Rides The Bus’ with all those spectacular percussions are highlights.
A thing to pay attention on this album as well, are the vocals, a lot of them in most of the songs.

All in all, in the end of the day, I’m pretty sure the Al records will be played a lot on my player.

Tracklist:
1. Ricky (2:36)
2. Gotta Boogie (2:14)
3. I Love Rocky Road (2:36)
4. Buckingham Blues (3:13)
5. Happy Birthday (2:28)
6. Stop Draggin’ My Car Around (3:16)
7. My Bologna (2:01)
8. The Check’s In The Mail (3:13)
9. Another One Rides The Bus (2:40)
10. I’ll Be Mellow When I’m Dead (3:39)
11. Such A Groovy Guy (3:02)
12. Mr. Frump In The Iron Lung (1:54)

One comment on ““Weird Al” Yankovic – “Weird Al” Yankovic (1983)

  1. Pingback: “Weird Al” Yankovic – “Weird Al” Yankovic (1983) | All My Reviews Here

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 07/10/2012 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , .

Goodreads

Top views

  • None

The most evaluated ones

