Life Is All About Music

A personal view on music, all kinds of music.

Aerosmith – Rocks (1976)


Aerosmith – Rocks (1976)

Artist: Aerosmith
Album: Rocks
Year: 1976
Label: Columbia

Thoughts:
I like Aerosmith! I don’t love them, but I like it. But there’s something, I just can’t explain in words I guess, but they are never ‘there’ for me.

Music for me is all about albums, not individual songs, just like I already mentioned on the Rolling Stones review HERE. And going against the Waves, the only real good album that the band recorded in my opinion that I’ve heard till now is the great Nine Lives (1997).

But don’t get me wrong, Rocks (1976), like the name says, literally, rocks. It’s a good album, but again, Aerosmith‘s always missing something, a touch I guess.


Maybe we need some really remarkable guitar solos. Joe Perry is a good guitar player, but he’d never been able to create a really good ‘singing’ solo. You know, the kind you can whistle with? I think this would be essential to a Hard Rock/Blues Band like Aerosmith was/is.

But hey, there’s great songs here like ‘Back In The Saddle’, ‘Rats In The Cellar’, ‘Sick As A Dog’ and ‘Home Tonight’.

Tracklist:
1. Back In The Saddle (4:40)
2. Last Child (3:27)
3. Rats In The Cellar (4:02)
4. Combination (3:38)
5. Sick As A Dog (4:25)
6. Nobody’s Fault (4:40)
7. Get The Lead Out (3:42)
8. Lick And A Promise (3:04)
9. Home Tonight (3:15)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 11/10/2012 by in Reviews and tagged , , , , .

Goodreads

progshine

Top views

  • None

Archives

