Life Is All About Music

A personal view on music, all kinds of music.

The Offspring – Days Go By (2012)


The Offspring – Days Go By (2012)

Artist: The Offspring
Album: Days Go By
Year: 2012
Label: Columbia

Thoughts:
I’ve never been into The Offspring but I liked them at Americana (1998) times and later Conspiracy Of One (2000), I’ve listened the latter one a lot. I lost the track of the band by the time of Splinter (2003) and the 5 years hiatus till Rise And Fall, Rage And Grace (2008) didn’t help that much.

Following the last album Days Go By (2012) comes after 4 years hiatus. My wife is a fan and asked me to take a look at this one so I thought it was a good time to check the band out again!

‘The Future Is Now’ is a very good start, ‘Secrets From The Underground’ reminds me ‘The Kids Aren’t Alright’, but who knows the band music, knows that they never been too much of a ‘let’s play completely new music’ kind of band, so I think it’s ok.

‘Days Go By’, literally, and so far it’s ok, but I must admit that all the songs remind me other songs by the band, which makes me uncomfortable. Especially because this one is a completely ripped off from Foo Fighters song ‘Times Like These’.

 

One thing I like about the album is the overall ‘grown up’ feeling, they managed to keep their sound but with a mature feeling, maybe that’s why old fans are alienated, but fanatics are worthless anyway so, nevermind them. At least till the middle of the album.

Then, the sixth track rolls in, the single ‘Cruising California (Bumpin’ in My Trunk)’, which is a very lame and childish song. And the one that goes right after ‘All I Have Left Is You’ with its Auto Tune which doesn’t help that much the middle of Days Go By (2012) get better. ‘OC Guns’ finishes the middle of the album and makes it lose at least 1 star in my final rate.

They re-recorded ‘Dirty Magic’, originally on Ignition (1992), only God knows why. The song starts and the fool middle vanishes. It’s possible to come back to the real Days Go By (2012) and enjoy it again, the Green Day guitars in ‘I Wanna Secret Family (With You)’ prove that.

But that’s how the album ends, good, not great, half way…

Tracklist:
1. The Future Is Now (4:08)
2. Secrtes From The Underground (3:09)
3. Days Go By (4:01)
4. Turning Into You (3:41)
5. Hurting As One (2:49)
6. Cruising California (Bumpin’ In My Trunk) (3:30)
7. All I Have Left Is You (5:18)
8. O.C. Guns (4:07)
9. Dirty Magic (4:00)
10. I Wanna Secret Family (With You) (3:01)
11. Dividing By Zero (2:22)
12. Slim Pickens Does The Right Thing And Rides The Bomb To Hell (2:36)

2 comments on “The Offspring – Days Go By (2012)

  1. One Cute Man Band
    09/01/2013

    Oh, come on, man! The re-recording of Dirty Magic is awesome! It even inspired me to record a version of my own! Why don’t you check it out? Here it is: http://onecutemanband.wordpress.com/2013/01/06/my-version-of-the-offsprings-dirty-magic/

    I’d love to know what you think about it! Cheers!

  2. Pingback: The Offspring – Days Go By (2012) | All My Reviews Here

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 21/11/2012 by in Reviews and tagged , , .

Goodreads

progshine

Top views

  • None

Archives

